Alec Holcomb


Albéniz: España, Op. 165 - Suite Española No. 1, Op. 47

This album contains all original transcriptions of Isaac Albéniz’ two most popular suites, España Op. 165 and Suite Española No. 1 Op 47. This music could be described as a postcard from Spain, and is full of gorgeous, singing melodies and striking gestures. A culmination of years of work, these transcriptions breathe new life into staples of the classical guitar repertoire, and unearth hidden gems that were thought to be unplayable on solo guitar.

Track listing

España, Op. 165:

I. Preludio
II. Tango
III. Malagueña
IV. Serenata
V. Capricho Catalan
VI. Zortzico

Suite Española No.1, Op. 47
I. Granada
II. Cataluña
III. Sevilla
IV. Cádiz
V. Asturias
VI. Aragón
VII. Castilla
VIII. Cuba

Les saisons, Op. 101:
III. L’automne